Topic: Marantz still top of the line?

Hi everybody,
I'm pretty new to this whole multimedia and slideshow thing (not to journalism and photography though) and would like to really get into it since I think that is the future of (multimedia) journalism. What I need is a good recorder and I was wondering if the Marantz 660 that Brian Storm recommends is still considered top of the line? Or do newer models like the H4 do just as well? I'm okay with spending $500 if that helps me to prevent comming home with sub-par audio. I have a good mic to start with but I was wondering about a good but affordable wireless mic kit. Storm recommends one for $2500 and I'm really not able so spend that much money right now. Is there anything cheaper you could get away with and still produce pro quality? I love the idea of being able to record and shoot at the same time but I was wondering how I would avoid to recond the sound of my camera's shutter? Would I have to use a blimp or a muzzle? Any insights greatly welcome.
Thanks a lot.
Best,
Matthias

Re: Marantz still top of the line?

Everyone seems to have their own opinions, but I started with a Mircrotrak 24/96 and have switched to the new Edrol R09.  I believe you can start with these untis, addinga $100 mic for the Edirol, and you are good to go for 90% of your web sounslides jobs.

3 (edited by bmeeks 2007-11-02 23:32:19)

The Marantz 660 is still the workhorse giving you the best price for performance payoff.  But it's bulky to use, especially if you're trying to juggle both the audio and the photography yourself.  If you have the time and ability to record the audio separately, in a sound-friendly environment, then the 660 can't be beat for a device in its price range.