Topic: Berated by a microphone salesman

The last time I opened my mouth to ask for a suggestion on a good microphone, the owner of a specialty audio store here in Boston gave me this you-poor-schmuck look and just gestured to the shelves of cardboard boxes containing what I assumed to be very expensive, complicated audio equipment. I explained that I just wanted a microphone to use with my digital recorder or computer to record clean narrations for audio slideshows. He offered to charge me for a tutorial. I left.

I just download Soundslides and read through a bunch of posts here. Thought I'd ask for some advice.

My goals for recording: audio slideshow narration and interviews; gathering outdoor ambient sound. I am a working print journalist and my newspaper is slowly trying to produce more multimedia. What I'm trying to do is get excited about multimedia and teach myself through personal at-home projects. Something along the lines of One in 8 Million (New York Times audio-slideshow profiles).

My current equipment: a $100 5-year-old Sony ICD-ST10 digital recorder (great for transcribing interviews; lousy for sound quality). My Dell XPS m1330 laptop.

Should I be looking to buy a quality microphone to use with my Sony recorder and/or computer? Or buy a new recording device/microphone altogether? I'd like to get away with spending $100 or less but would be willing to shell out $200-300 if the quality difference makes it worthwhile.

Thanks for reading the post and for any advice.

Re: Berated by a microphone salesman

I think for a recorder (barely) in your price range I'd recommend the Zoom H2. For your purposes - and mine - this is a great tool. I am not familiar with your Sony and others here can help make recommendations about that and appropriate microphones.

You've come to a very good place for information. You'll see.

Bill

3 (edited by mitchellm 2009-11-02 08:13:48)