Topic: High noise floor, help please...

Hello, I need some help please... I am geared with a micro track 24/96, firmware updated, a dynamic shure sm58 mic connected to the mini jack with a short XL3 cable connected to a longer XLR3 cable. I am doing sound tests for a series of interviews with women, only their voices mic'ed, close range. (Product of interviews will be story driven slide shows distributed on dvd's.) I am hearing quite a bit of hissing (high noise floor) in background and would like to know how I can get this down. I have side gain range set at "M" and 27dB boost off for now. When I put the manual input gain settings full up, the hiss is pretty loud. Mid way, it's better. I'm worried about having it set too low for the quality and volume of voice during editing, and concerned that if it is too high there will too much hiss in final product which is voice/narrative anchored. I'm not a pro, and don't know how to "take the hiss out" in the editing stage. Any suggestions for me would be great. I'm learning as I go... Thank you. Jenifer

Re: High noise floor, help please...

Hey Jennifer.

I'm going to copy this thread to the audio resources forum ... it will get more traffic in there, and I think there are some micro track users that can comment.

I've personally had some issues with the smaller recorders and dynamic mics ... they just didn't have enough signal apparently.

Have you tried it with a powered mic?

-joe

Hi Joe,